Women of Riley

27 09 2011

Serving as the National Goodwill Ambassador for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals was a life-changing experience.  So much so, that I have continued my work with our own CMN hospital right here in Indiana ever since.  I love Riley Children’s Hospital and cherish every moment I have with the kids, their families, the doctors and hospital staff.  We truly have one of the best hospitals in the world for children.

Another group of people who have become as passionate and dedicated to this program as I have is the Women of Riley group.  The group consists of about 75 women who volunteer their time, resources and money to improve the quality of life for every Riley child.  This group is responsible for the amazing Cancer Center Prom every year, which I was able to be part of.  It is one of my favorite appearances I have ever had and will remember that event for the rest of my life.

Today, I had the opportunity to present to this very prestigious group of women.  Mostly, I wanted to say thank you for their service to the thousands of kids who are hospitalized every year at Riley.  I wanted to hopefully pass on encouragement and motivation as well to assist them in their efforts.  And, I wanted to remind them that I am right at their side joining the fight against childhood illnesses and working every day to help the children and families of Riley have a better tomorrow.

The Women of Riley make such a difference, and it just goes to show that no matter who you are, or where you come from, all you need is an idea, passion and determination and you can make things happen.  These women are the epitome of changing lives.  They saw a need, made a plan on how they were going to fulfill that need and then put that plan into action.  They are making a difference in every child’s life who is touched by the Women of Riley.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

