Refresh Leadership Live

18 05 2011

It’s not every day that you get to rub shoulders with high-powered CEO’s, professional athletes and internationally best-selling authors, but today was one of those days!

Express Employment Professionals presented their Refresh Leadership Live event in Indianapolis, downtown at the Convention Center.  I was asked to be the official emcee of the event where Walter Bond, Peyton Manning and Ken Blanchard were to be the keynote speakers.  I was beyond excited to participate.

My day started off with a few speed bumps which is pretty typical when you are anticipating something as exciting as this event.  My day started off much too early, leaving the house at 4:30am to get into hair and makeup.  As soon as I finished getting ready for the day at the convention center, the crowd started to arrive and just before I was to take the stage in front of tens of thousands of people via webcast and live audience, I split my skirt right down the back.  I was mortified, but could nothing to fix it, so I covered it the best I could and made the best of the day trying not to expose my derriere to the whole world.

In between speakers, I had the most amazing conversations with several of the VIP’s.  One of my favorites was with Ken Blanchard, author of the best-selling “One Minute Manager.”  Ken is an older gentleman and has so much wisdom to share with the world and has written mounds of books in order to do that very thing.  I was so touched by his story of how he came to Jesus later on in life and how he hopes to witness to the whole world.

I also had a few moments to spend with Peyton Manning with whom I am completely and utterly impressed.  This was the first time I had ever met Peyton face-to-face, but his charm and personality sent me over the moon.  We instantly connected and became instant friends.

What an amazing day, sharing with people who have had tremendous success by making great decisions and putting others first.  I am so thankful to work with such an amazing team of people who really have the right idea about how to make a company great…leadership and teamwork.  It all comes down to the relationships between people in the workplace and once you realize that and start making advancements in that direction, you are sure to have success.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

