Kentucky Derby

6 05 2011

Last night I came down to Louisville, KY in preparation and excitement for an incredible opportunity during the Kentucky Derby.  I was asked to model Derby hats for a certain designer on the Today Show.  I had been looking forward to this day for some time now, but the day turned out to be much different than I had anticipated!

I had to be at Churchill Downs at 7:30am ready to go over to where they were shooting.  A van picked all of us girls up and took us over to the grounds.  Upon arrival, the designer pulled out a huge box of hats…all gorgeous!  She began handing them out to each of the models, each one more beautiful than the last.  I was the last one to get a “hat” and when the woman reached in the box and pulled out a headband with a peacock feather, I have to admit I was  a little disappointed.  I was really excited about wearing something extravagant, loud and lavish!  It was awful cute though.

The weather didn’t necessarily pan out as we had hoped.  We stood freezing in the cold temperatures while waiting for our segment.  At around 9:00am; however, it was our turn.  The producer quickly lined us up in front of the camera in order and then Al Roker started speaking about each hat individually.  The only problem…he skipped over me!  Disappointed again.  I thought, “Oh well.  As long as I can get back to Indianapolis for my next appearance for Riley Hospital on time then we will be okay.”  I totally jinxed myself because then the day completely went down the toilet.

Once we finished up, there was no driver to take us back to our cars 2 miles away.  We called someone that took 20 minutes to get to us and would only leave after everyone got in the car, which was taking a lot longer than expected.  Then our driver got lost.  When we made it back to the area we were supposed to be at, all the roads were barracaded so we needed to find a different route.  After getting instructions from a police officer, our driver got lost again and we ended up right back where we started.  In the meantime, I was asked if I had a chance to call and cancel my appointment.  I didn’t know what to say.  I would never cancel on Riley.  They mean entirely too much to me.  I just needed to get out of the car and get to Indy for those Riley kids.  They were counting on me. 

Once I saw a get-away moment, I told the driver to pull over.  I jumped out of the van and took off sprinting towards the direction of the parking lot.  After running for quite some time in high heels, a cocktail dress and carrying a huge bag, I got to an area where I could see the parking lot…the only problem was there were two 12-foot tall fences with barbed wire on top and two sets of railroad tracks in between us.  I had to run all the way to where I started, go over a bridge about a quarter of a mile until I finally got in my car and drove off.  It was 11:00 when I pulled out of the lot and booked it to Indy which was 2 and half hours away.  I was supposed to be there at 12:00pm, but thankfully President Obama saved me.  My first duty was to conduct media interviews for Riley, but the President was in town and the media flocked to cover his event.  I made it to Riley with enough time to conduct several interviews and made it home safely that night.

In frustrating times, Lord, be with me.  Teach me to be slow to anger and abounding in love like you.  Always remind me to accept and respect others no matter the situation and guide my every thought, word and deed with your hand and know that every opportunity is a blessing from you.  Amen.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

