8th Graders in Action

20 04 2011

As many people may know my personal platform as Miss America 2009 was Passion for Service: Promoting Community Service & Involvement.  I love speaking to schools, businesses and community events, encouraging everyone to get more involved and give back.  I particularly love reaching out to the youth.  I always say community service in it’s basic form is helping others.  You can do that in so many ways every day.

Today, I got to see that very thing in action.  As soon as I finished up in Seymour at the Jackson County Women’s Conference, I jumped in my car and rushed to Columbus, IN for the Northside Middle School Water Project.  The 8th graders at Northside Middle School were posed a challenge through one of their service-learning classes.  They had to find an organization or program for whom they would do a fundraiser.  This class chose to raise money to build a well in Africa.  Their goal was $5,000 and they wanted me to help them reach their goal.

They decided to do a game show called “Are You Smarter Than an 8th Grader?”  It was the same format as the television show that features 5th graders.  I was to be the host.  There were four teams of business professionals coming from different categories like education, young professionals, engineering and medicine.  It was the 8th Graders against the adults and the 8th Graders definitely held their own.  I had the best time up on stage asking the questions, awarding points and ad-libbing for fill.

The kids got very close to their goal through their event.  I wish them all the best of luck as they continue to find ways to serve in their communities and abroad.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

