Thank You For Being A Friend

19 04 2011

Almost everyone can hum the theme song from The Golden Girls….

“Thank you for being a friend. Travel down the road and back again. Your heart is true, you’re a pal and a confidant.  And, if you threw a party, and invited everyone you knew.  You would see the biggest gift would be from me and the card attached would say, ‘Thank you for being a friend.'”

It’s most definitely a classic!  Have you ever realized how often and how easy it is to sing a song from memory or out of habit and not really listen to the lyrics?  This is one of those songs for me.  After meeting with one of my dearest friends this evening, I was trying to think of a song that reminded me of her.  I know it’s kind of silly, but this is the one that came to mind.  The lyrics fit her perfectly.

That friend is my Miss America 2009 Class sister and Miss Vermont 2008, Ashley Wheeler.  Ashley was in town on business and wanted to meet up for dinner/dessert.  I absolutely would not pass up that opportunity!  I first met Ashley when the class of 2009 spent three weeks living on the Queen Mary in Long Beach, CA while shooting the Miss America “Countdown to the Crown” realilty show.  Ashley and I were both members of the Grey team and instantaneously click and have remained close friends ever since. 

We have traveled down the road of Miss America and back again.  I can tell her anything because her heart is so true.  She’s my pal and confidant.  And, when I got married, she traveled all the way from Vermont to celebrate with me and Brian…and she had one of the biggest gifts:)  It’s a little cheesy…okay a lot cheesy, but Ashley is the kind of friend you love to love. 

So, Ashley…thank you for being a friend!

XOXO-Katie

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

