Making the Best Better

18 03 2011

Growing up, 4-H was a huge part of my life.  It’s a tremendous tradition, passing through the last four generations of my family.  My parents even met in the dairy barns at the local county fair some 32 years ago.  4-H brings people together in more than just how it brought my parents together.  It gives kids and young adults opportunities to get in their community for service projects, opportunities to gather for weekly meetings within their individual club and it provides an annual event in which the entire community can get behind, enjoy and support.

Since 4-H means so much to me, I love every chance I have to get more involved as I get older.  I speak on behalf of the state foundation as well as do media appearances on a regular basis, attend national and state-wide events and never miss the fair!  I recently joined a committee that was created to raise funds for the Indiana 4-H foundation.  In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the foundation wants to make this year it’s biggest year ever, despite budget cuts and loss of funds from major supporters.

I want to continue the tradition of making 4-H available for all Indiana youth as well as thousands of youth across the country.  Through 4-H I learned responsibility, leadership, time-management, confidence and communication skills among dozens of other life-changing lessons that are tremendously valuable to every day success.  Best wishes 4-H and the Indiana 4-H Foundation on 50 fabulous years!  Let’s make magic:)

XOXO-Katie

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

