A Thank You Goes A Long Way

30 11 2011

The last two days have been truly special as Michael and I headed to his hometown of Evansville, IN for the Riley School Tour.  This project is in an effort to thank all of the schools who have participated in the Riley Kids Caring and Sharing Program which has raised more than $1,000,000.  Michael and I arrived in Evansville on Tuesday night because it was going to be a very early morning and we also wanted to visit with his parents for a few moments.

Wednesday, we made our rounds to three different schools in the area.  We were also joined by A.J. Stringer and his parents.  A.J. was diagnosed with Lymphoblastic Leukemia when he was 7 and spent the next three and a half years at Riley undergoing treatment.  At 13 years of age today, A.J. is a happy, healthy teenager who loves racing, and loves life!  He is a miracle and one of my greatest role models.

I first met A.J. during my year of service as he was chosen the Champion of Indiana for Children’s Miracle Network.  We spent four days together in Orlando and then another three in Washington D.C.  I knew from the moment I met him, he would remain in my heart always.

Riley will also remain in my heart always as it is a place of hope: A shelter from the storm.  Thank you to all of the students who participated in Kids Caring and Sharing and thank you Riley Hospital for Children for being a catalyst of miracles every day!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment